This is the end of my World Tour (Day 907)

Today, my 907th as a World Traveller, is my last.  As they say, all good things must come to an end.  After almost 2 and a half years of wandering around the planet, my time has come.  Timbuktu was my last stop.  (That’s going out with a bang, I say!)  I am typing this from my parent’s house in Canada.

With my last trick up my sleeve, I surprised my parents by showing up unannounced!  Oh my, you should have seen the look on their faces.  Damn, that was good fun!  I recommend this move to any traveller. 

It’s really quite impressive how dirty I and all my stuff were when I got here.  Not just regular dirty, but Africa dirty.  That’s next level.  I just had a shower at my parents house:  a clean bathroom, with hot water (!), water pressure, a clean towel.  It was priceless.  It’s really hard to explain the joy this brought me. 

I was going  to wash the clothes I have been wearing around the world for 2.5 years, but now I am thinking I should probably just burn them.  They are a science project of their own.

It’s good to be back in the Motherland.  I will be back soon with a “Best Of – Part 3” (I love doing these) and some last words to wrap up this blog.  Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to This is the end of my World Tour (Day 907)

  1. Boris says:

    I can’t wait to meet up Shawnie. We’ve missed you

  2. Chip says:

    Back to MSFT? We still would love to have you on our team… Y0u have to at least come visit us.

  3. Emma says:

    I can’t believe it is really the end?!
    What an incredible adventure! I have so enjoyed reading…thanx!..
    You look very different from at the start..it’s obviously changed you..

    I leave for my next big adventure very soon!…Im going for 3 months to
    San Fran,New York, Barcelona,Berlin and Amsterdam. Yipee!!

    Enjoy the next chapter in the home lands!!
    Em xoxox

  4. Ida says:

    Shawn!
    I am really sad that I wont be reading about your travelling craziness any more (but of course-I will stay tuned for that last one!) But I know good things will be comming for you my dear, I’m in Malmö, Sweden right now charging my batteries and escaping Stockholm, staying with a good friend of mine. We talked about life and travelling last night and I showed pictures from our bike trip and then from your blog. Thank you for all the good stories and how to videos! I hope to hear more about it and see more of you later on! What an end to a great weekend for me. Take care my friend! See you later!

  5. Shannon says:

    I was going to buy you a beer the next time the Bombers vs Blues but I guess you wont be stopping by for a long time. xx Shannon

  6. Kim says:

    Good one Shawn….would have loved to seen your Mom and Dad’s face!! Hope to see you this summer….if you’re around.
    Love Auntie Kim

  7. AK says:

    There and back again. Welcome home. Glad to hear you made it back in one piece. Perhaps a bunch of pieces but at least they’re all together.

  8. sarah says:

    welcome home!

  9. Andrea says:

    Seems your epic Timbuktu river adventure was a most fitting end to your travels. As the song goes, “Rivers turn to ocean, Oceans tide you home, Home is where the heart is, But your heart had to roam.” Congratulations on following your heart Sunshine! It has taken you on an incredible journey, and I feel sure it has many more good times in store for you. Enjoy being home. Love, Andrea xxx

  10. Heather G says:

    Welcome home Shawn!! If you feel like making a tour of Ontario, you’ve always got a place to crash in Toronto.

  11. Brent says:

    Martleock,

    It’s been awesome reading your blog the past couple of years. Keep in touch and I hope to have you in net on my team one of these years again.

    -Brent

  12. smartelo says:

    You guys rock. Thanks for the comments, updates, and offers of hospitality (be careful, I tend to take people up on these :-)

    Chip — In truth, I have no idea what I’m doing. But, a visit is definitely in order next time I’m at your end of the continent!

  13. Joe says:

    All the best. I’ve enjoyed keeping up with you and it was great showing you around Istanbul. Well done. Looking forward to the book.
    In a couple weeks I imagine you’ll be looking forward to the next big trip.

  14. Z says:

    Thank you so much for keeping up with this blog while you were travelling the world. We so much enjoyed meeting up with you in Istanbul and I know that you have been an inspiration to so many travellers – heck, you’ve inspired us to get back on the road again! I wish you lots of luck and patience as you settle into the “homeland” and getting lost in a grocery store’s cereal aisle. I felt that “returning home” was also part of the “world travel” experience. Welcome home and we hope to see you again when we return to Canada!

Leave a Reply

