“At the end of the day, we’re all travellers” (Day 728)

Often during my travels I hear a lot of great quotes.  I have vowed many times to write them all down, but I never get around to it.  The quotes fade from my memory and never see the light of day, in any form.  But now, when I am struggling for a title for a blog post (like today), I have decided to use them there, just for fun.  I will explain this quote below.

A while back I did an excellent tour of Germany and Switzerland.  In Germany, I stuck to the East side:  I visited the infamous Wall in edgy Berlin, viewed the green countryside of the Thuringia forest, and wandered through historic Dresden.  I enjoyed sausages and beer.  Here are a few picture highlights:

The Berlin Wall that divided the city in two (literally) for 29 years.  Some of it still stands.
Berlin could have the best street art of any city in the world.  This one is for my environmentally-inclined friends.

 The Beer Garden – a German institution that I love

Easily, the most stunning thing about Swizterland is trekking through the the Alps.  They show-off gnarly glacier-laced mountains looming over post-card perfect green valleys.  And, of course, those Swiss villages with their quaint houses.  I had perfect weather. The whole thing was idyllic.  Here is a taste:

 

I couldn’t stop taking pictures in the Swiss Alps!  My camera got a workout.  My trigger finger got cramped.

Over in Geneva, the city is super clean, there are water fountains everywhere, the city set around a beautiful lake with snow-capped mountains in the background.  The place is very… perfect.  (maybe too much so?  hmmm…)  I would say it is the opposite of Berlin.  Anyway, I think they made Geneva well.

Geneva’s water jet is the highest in the world.  Yet another “world’s -EST” for your favourite dauntless traveller (somebody call Guiness and tell him I should be in his books :)

Geneva is home to CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research in Geneva.  I did a tour.  When I was a kid, I used to build cars out of Legos and smash them together to see what would happen.  These guys have taken it to the next level:  they shoot particles together to see what happens.  (Aside:  They also invented the World Wide Web… something to write home to mom about, for sure)

I took this picture of one of CERN’s control rooms.  The INJECTION PROBE BEAM… riiigggghhhht… who wouldn’t want one of those?  Mom and Dad, that’s going on my Christmas list.

If you think you won’t be able to fall asleep tonight unless you see more of Germany and Switzerland, you should click here.

In other news, about a week ago, I celebrated a special anniversary for me:  On Sep 27 it was 3 years since I quit my job!  That was the day my life changed forever.

Anyway, back to the title of this blog.  I had just arrived in Geneva.  I was standing at a bus stop with all my stuff, trying to figure out how to get to a friend’s house; which bus I needed, which zone I was going to, what kind of ticket I needed, etc.  A guy comes up to me and asks if he could help.  Sure.  He explains everything to me, which is great because when you arrive in a new city, it is helpful to get an explanation of the local transportation system.  I thank him.  “No problem at all,” he replies,

“At the end of the day, we’re all travellers.”

This entry was posted in Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “At the end of the day, we’re all travellers” (Day 728)

  1. Pingback: Summary and Best Of: Europe, the Middle East, and Africa | Shawn Was Here

Leave a Reply

