Drink with me on New Years Eve (Day 373)

This is an idea I have had for a long time.  As I contemplate another holiday season on the road, far away from friends and family, I think it time I give it a go.  This is going to require a little reader interaction, but that is OK, I think this blog could use some.  Here is the concept:

Obviously, since I will be somewhere in South America on New Years Eve, we cannot physically drink together, side-by-side, as we are separated by great space; but we are not necessarily separated by time.  If we picked a single, absolute time on Earth, regardless of time zone, we could drink together!

Note how this is different from the way New Years Eve is traditionally celebrated.  People always celebrate the particular moment (in this case, midnight) in their respective time zones.  Thus, only people in similar longitudes celebrate at once.  For example, those in Montreal do not celebrate, with respect to time, with those in Vancouver.

Instead, what I am proposing here is a global, absolute time.  That is the novelty.  Call me crazy.

I believe most of you readers live in the Eastern Standard time zone (ie, Cornwall, Toronto, etc), so let’s use that as our basis.  I don’t want to invade any magical midnight moments, so how about we make 11:30pm, Dec 31st, 2009 to be our time. That is 8:30pm for you West Coast kids.  For those of you in the Eastern Hemisphere, it will be damn hard for you to participate, so you are off the hook.  But, if by chance you are still up at this time, then by all means, join in.  You will have my respect and admiration :)

No matter where you are on the planet, if you raise your glass at this time, you will be doing so with me.  And hopefully, a few others.  We will be drinking together :)  (I know, it sounds corny, but I think it could be fun).

This whole idea is of course optional, but if you have nothing to do, join me.  Just so you know I followed through on this, I will take a video of my toast to you and post it on this blog.  With a time stamp.  If anybody has any ideas on how to improve this little social experiment, let me know.

Cheers from the Galapagos Islands, Pacific Ocean, where the sea lions are as curious about me as I am about them.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drink with me on New Years Eve (Day 373)

  1. Cam says:

    Best make it a full Team Archstone event. I\’m gonna be back in the 905 for NYE for the first time in a while.

  2. Shawn says:

    Haha, awesome, you guys rock.

  3. Lauren says:

    Representing the 416!

Leave a Reply

