Ceiling fan injury on my 2-year “I quit my job” anniversary (Day 355)

True story.  On this day, 2 years ago, I walked out of my office at Microsoft, off into the setting sun, similar to the end of those old western movies.  At least, that´s how I like to remember it.  In reality, I worked the whole night before and stumbled out a disheveled mess.  Still, it was the beginning of what will likely be the best part of my life, so I think it is worthy of a little celebration!

I had planned on writing you a post on being unemployed, as I have perfected the art.  However, the travel gods had different plans.  This morning, as I was stretching, I reached up and got the back of my wrist sliced by the metal blades of the ceiling fan that was spinning at max speed!  With blood dripping everywhere I went down to the local hospital.  I think everybody at the place (and their brothers) came into the room to see the idiot gringo (“foreigner”) who stuck his hand into a ceiling fan.  I was like a circus act.

If you were a fly on the wall, you would have overheard the following conversation as the doctor and I looked into the rather sizeable hole in my skin:

Me [in my broken Spanish] : “Is anything broken?”
Doctor [taking a cursory glance and getting me to move my fingers] : “No.  It is superficial.”
Me : “Hmmm… what is all that white stuff I see in there?”
Doctor : “Muscle.”
Me : “Huh.  Is the muscle cut?”
Doctor : “No.  It is superficial.”

I’m a little dubious, but I´m also the only person in the conversation without a medical degree (at least I think).  A few stitches and bandages later I am on my way back to the hotel where I try to explain to the owner why there is blood all over the floor of one of his rooms.

Anyway, all is well.  I wouldn’t even mention it, except that this injury seems to have slowed down my typing such that I can´t properly let you in on my unemployment opinons (of which I have many.)  I can´t tell you about the excellent trek to a lost city I just returned from.  (Funny, I can survive 5 days deep in the Colombian jungle unscathed, but one day in a civilized hotel room, and I require hospitalization.)  Just pecking at the keyboard to explain all this is a bit of a pain.  I know this story just sounds like an excuse for my laziness, but, seriously, a ceiling fan injury?  I can´t make this stuff up.

The stitches are due to come out in 5 days.  Until then, watch out for those killer ceiling fans, they are dangerous!

This entry was posted in Caribbean South America. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ceiling fan injury on my 2-year “I quit my job” anniversary (Day 355)

  1. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon
    this I have found It positively

    useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute &
    assist other users like its helped me. Good job.

  2. Lawrence says:

    At this time it sounds like Movable Type is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that

    what you are using on your blog?

Leave a Reply

