A few last words about Nepal

Hey all.  I’ve been back in India for a few days now.  Things are good.  For all those who are curious, I’m staying away from Mumbai.  I just uploaded a Nepal photo album (along with a few picture captions).  Enjoy.

I am a huge Nepal fan.  The locals I met were wonderful.  The country is rich in natural beauty.  It knows what tourists want and delivers.  It is an easy country to travel in.

One thing I have been loving about the Indian subcontinent is the general lack of rules or regulations.  And, where rules do exist, no one bothers to obey or enforce them.  If rules/regulations are a form of trying to force people to conform to certain behavior, then I think the lack of rules/regulations are a form of freedom.  For example, if you want to drive your car on the wrong side of the car, that is up to you.  I have been in many cars that have done this.  On an Indian train, if you want to open the train door, sit on the edge, and let your legs dangle as you watch the Indian countryside fly by at 100 km/h, go nuts.  So I did.  In the Nepal Terai, if you want to ride on the roof of the bus, with the wind in your hair, and risk getting decapitated by electrical wires, feel free.  So I did that, too.

The shadow a bus makes with a guy riding on top

I now consider myself a bus-roof riding expert.  I have spent many hours up there.  At first, I was ducking at every electrical wire that passed.  Then I realized that I actually had at least 2 or 3 feet clearance most times.  As I got more experience, I wouldn’t even flinch when the lines went by.  Except for wines that were really sagging, of which there were quite few.  For those saggers, I was hitting the deck.  I did get a little cocky for a bit and got smoked by a tree branch, but it was minor, no prob.  Anyway, the roof of a bus is a great way to travel through the plains of Nepal.  The wind and the freedom are intoxicating.  It reminds me of the first time I rode a motorcycle down the highway after being in the protective bubble of a car for years.

Anyway, I’m going to spend some time in the Indian state of Rajasthan.  Talk to you in a bit.

This entry was posted in Indian Subcontinent. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A few last words about Nepal

  1. Nana says:

    This looks like so much fun. I especially like the elephant ride. I definately am adding that onto my todo list!

  2. ida says:

    Hi Shawn! I love reading, so keep wriring ok?

  3. Derick says:

    Majestic mountains, wise men on buses with beards, elephant polo, rhinos…how cliche. Frankly I\’m not impressed Shawn. Let me know when you do something even somewhat interesting. Maybe the Taj Mahal will provide some thrills…but I doubt it. You\’ve seen one Mahal, you\’ve seen them all I say. Keep writing either way, it gives me something to do when I\’m not out wrangling albino unicorns on the Jupiter moon Europa…..What? You\’ve never been??

  4. Shawn says:

    To quote a mutual friend of ours: "Derick, you still have your wit…"

  5. Brent says:

    It sounds like you\’re loving the freedom… there\’s no way you\’re coming back to Seattle. Great reading Marts! break a few domestic rules on my behalf while you\’re there, will ya!?!

Leave a Reply

